A: Select an animal off our web site, call to make sure the animal is still available or come into the shelter and select one of our adoption pets. Once you have selected a pet to adopt you will have to complete an adoption application. You can obtain an application off our web site or in our office. The application will hold the animal for up to 24 hours to allow time to complete the adoption process.
Q: What is the cost to adopt a dog?
A: There is a $15.00 adoption fee. You must pre-pay at a Santa Rosa Veterinarian of your choice for a spay or neuter before the adoption is completed. All animals that are six months of age or older, will be transported from the shelter to the vet in Santa Rosa County for altering. If the dog is already spayed or neutered the cost to adopt is $20.00 for all adopters.
Q: What is the cost to adopt a cat?
A: All Counties: $15.00 adoption fee. If the Cat has already been spayed/neutered: $15.00. You must pre-pay at a Santa Rosa Veterinarian of your choice for a spay or neuter before the adoption is completed. All animals that are six months of age or older will be transported from the shelter by Animal Services directly to a Santa Rosa County Veterinarian for altering.
Q: Can I get a refund if I return the animal to the shelter?
A: Yes, if it is returned within seven days you can get a refund of the adoption fee only. If it for an illnes there has to be a statement from a veterinarian.
Q: Who is responsible for the cost of spaying/ neutering and rabies vaccination?
A: The adopter
Q: Do I have to get the animal spayed or neutered, if so why?
A: Yes, the Legislature has determined that uncontrolled breeding of dogs and cats in the state results in the production of many more puppies and kittens than are needed to replace pet animals which have died or become lost or to provide pet animals for new owners.
This leads to many dogs, cats, puppies, and kittens being unwanted, becoming strays and suffering privation and death, being impounded and destroyed at great expense to the community, and constituting a public health hazard, therefore Florida State Statute 823.15 requires that every dog or cat sold or released for adoption from any public or private animal shelter or animal control agency operated by a humane society or by a county, city, or other incorporated political subdivision be sterilized.
Q: At what age is my pet required to be spayed or neutered?
A: 6 months
Q: At what age should rabies vaccination be given? Can I administer the shot at home?
A: Rabies vaccination at 4 months, all dogs, cats, and ferrets must be vaccinated by a licensed veterinarian.
Q: What if I fail to get the adopted animal spayed or neutered?
A: According to Florida Statute # 775.08(3) Failure to comply is a non criminal violation punishable by a fine, forfeiture, or other civil penalty. Any legal fees or court costs used for enforcement is the responsibility of the adopter.
Q: What type of animals do Santa Rosa County Animal Services offer for adoption?
A: Cats and Dogs. When available we also offer ferrets, hamsters, guinea pigs, rabbits, pigs, and birds.
Q: Do you give any shots to the animals before adoption?
A: Yes, Adoptable dogs6 months. of age and older receive a heartworm screening, are given a Da2pp Vaccination, Bordatella Vaccination and receive Panacur for Hook ,Whip and Round worms. They are temperament tested for various behaviors to help ensure you are adopting a well adjusted pet.
Puppies must be eight weeks of age to adopt to a new home. They receive two regimens of a Da2pp Vaccination and are dewormed twice before becoming available for adoption. They will continue to receive vaccinations and dewormer until they are 16 weeks of age while they are at the shelter or until they are adopted.
Adult Cats are checked for Feline Leukemia, receive an Eclipse 3 Vaccination, dewormed with Pyrantel and given a Capstar before being made available for adoption.
Kittens must also be eight weeks of age to adopt to a new home. They receive a regimen of an Eclipse 3 Vaccination, dewormed with Pyrantel , tested for Feline Leukemia and given a Capstar before being made available for adoption. Kittens will continue to receive triage for vaccinations and deworming until they are 16 weeks of age or until they are adopted.
Q: Can we bring in our animal(s) to see if it and our potential new pet get along?
A: Yes, we encourage you to bring in your family and your pets to interact with the potential pet.
Copyright 1998, County of Santa Rosa, Florida. All Rights Reserved. Other copyrights apply. Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your
e-mail address released in response to a public-records request, do not send
electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in