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Florida Forest Service braces for windy weekend 

 
Milton, FL – Officials with Florida Forest Service’s Blackwater Forestry Center are preparing 
for what could be a busy weekend if predicted weather conditions come to fruition.  
 
Several weather factors contribute to fire potential – wind, humidity and fuel moisture being the 
key elements. Portions of our area will see high winds (15-20 mph) and moderate humidity (less 
than 50%) at some point over the next three days. Combine those factors with a lack of rainfall 
over the past week and there is a potential for increased fire activity both in terms of number of 
fire and intensity of fires that we might see. 
 
In response, the Forest Service is ensuring proper staffing of strategic locations throughout 
Escambia, Santa Rosa and Okaloosa counties, restricting burn authorizations and will coordinate 
with key cooperating agencies throughout the weekend.  
 
Residents are urged not to burn yard waste during periods of high winds and should follow local 
burn laws and restrictions and heed the required setbacks for burning leaves, pine straw and other 
debris when the time is right to resume such burning. 
 
Please see the attached graphic on required setbacks and some tips for residents on outdoor 
burning. 
 
For more information, contact Joe Zwierzchowski with the Florida Forest Service at  
(850) 957-6140 ext. 127 or (850) 206-2675. 
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Some tips and requirements to keep in mind before you burn yard waste include: 
 Check with your city or county before you burn, some areas have stricter rules regarding burning 

and some municipalities do not allow any burning within city limits. 
 25 feet from any forested area 

(grasslands, brush or wildlands). 
 25 feet from your home or other 

combustible structure. 
 50 feet from any paved or public 

roadway. 
 150 from any occupied dwelling other 

than your own home. 
 Legal burning hours are between 8 

a.m. and one hour before sunset. 
 It is illegal to burn household garbage 

(including paper products), treated 
lumber, plastics, rubber materials, tires, 
pesticide, paint and aerosol containers. 

 Piles greater than 8 feet in diameter 
will require authorization from the 
Florida Forest Se

 Clear down to bare, mineral soil around 
your pile to prevent the fire from 
spreading. 

 Don’t burn on windy days. 
 Never leave a fire unattended – even 

for a moment.  
 Grass fires can spread quickly. Be 

prepared. Keep handy a water hose, 
shovel or other means to put out the 
fire.  

 Make sure the fire is completely out 
before leaving it – no smoke and no heat. 

 If your fire escapes, call for help quickly. Several minutes may pass before a fire department or 
the Forest Service can arrive on scene. 

 If your fire escapes, you might be held liable for the cost of suppression and damages to the 
property of others. 
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