Latest COVID-19 Updates
COVID-19 Vaccine and Testing Information
to receive updates via email. Updates are only sent when new information is available.
Vaccine appointments are available in Santa Rosa County Monday through Friday
Register for the vaccine by calling ShareCare's toll-free line, 866-201-7110 or online at: myvaccine.fl.gov. The TTY number for the deaf and hard of hearing is 833-476-1035. Callers will be asked a series of questions to determine their eligibility.
Residents who are signed up through the state vaccine registration system may lookup their appointment at vaccine.sharecare.com/appt-lookup. To talk with a live person with questions about appointments or the vaccine, residents may call 833-540-2044.
The CDC now allows up to 42 days between doses of the Moderna vaccine. While you can take the vaccine as early as 24 days after the first injection, you can also wait as long as six weeks.
The state is scheduling vaccine appointments at myvacccine.fl.gov and an operator will call you to set up your first shot. You must be sure that all call-screening apps or devices have been disabled and you must answer your phone regardless of the area code of the number that calls you. If you only answer numbers you recognize, you may miss the appointment call from the state.
If you do not receive your appointment from the state for your second shot by day 28, call the state vaccination line at 866-201-7110 or you may email email@example.com with your name, date of birth and the location where you received your first shot.
Governor Ron DeSantis issued Executive Order 21-47 to expand COVID-19 vaccinations to include the following new populations:
- K-12 school employees 50 years of age and older;
- Sworn law enforcement officers 50 years of age and older; and
- Firefighters 50 years of age and older.
- Long-term care facility residents and staff, persons 65 years of age and older; and health care personnel with direct patient contact are still eligible for the vaccine.
In addition to hospital providers and physicians, the executive order now permits advanced practice registered nurses and pharmacists may vaccinate persons determined by a physician to be extremely vulnerable. Such physician determinations shall include a statement that the patient meets the defined eligibility criteria established by a form prescribed by the Florida Department of Health.
Santa Rosa County Public Safety remains in partnership with the Florida Department of Emergency Management, serving the residents of the county in a logistical role. The local department of health also remains a partner with the state and county in administration of the vaccines.
Santa Rosa County leased the former department store at 6209 Hwy. 90 in Milton for a mass vaccination clinic. Santa Rosa County Public Safety and the Santa Rosa County Department of Health manage the facility with vaccine administration support from Ascension Sacred Heart. The facility is open Monday through Friday, appointment only. No walk-in appointments will be accepted. Initially officials plan to administer 1500 doses per week with the capability of administering more as vaccine supplies increase.
- Eligible Florida residents may register for the vaccine by calling ShareCare's toll-free line, 866-201-7110 or online at at: myvaccine.fl.gov. The TTY number for the deaf and hard of hearing is 833-476-1035. Callers will be asked a series of questions to determine their eligibility. For additional questions regarding the vaccine registration or administration process, call the Santa Rosa County ShareCare vaccine helpline at 833-540-2044.
- The ShareCare call line is an automated system. Callers will be asked a series of questions to determine their eligibility.
- Eligible residents of Santa Rosa County will then be called back by an operator to schedule a vaccination appointment as vaccines become available in Santa Rosa County. Operators will never ask for payment, credit card info, etc. to schedule an appointment.
- Operators will never ask for payment, credit card info, etc. to schedule an appointment.
- Residents who use a call screening app or device should consider disabling this function to ensure calls from the state are not blocked.
- After the appointment is scheduled, residents will then receive an email with a QR code with their registration information and consent form to print and bring to the appointment. The QR code and registration form are emailed in advance of appointments to improve efficiency at the vaccination site.
- The QR code cannot be shared with anyone else - they are unique per registered individual. Residents who do not have a printer, smartphone or email address will still receive their vaccinations.
- ShareCare operators will call to schedule second doses approximately one week before they are recommended.
- While the second doses can be given at approximately four weeks after the initial dose, the CDC has determined that second doses may be given as late as six weeks for both the Pfizer and Moderna vaccines. You will need a second consent form.
- Santa Rosa County has been administering the Moderna vaccine at public vaccination clinics.
This vaccination administration is a very carefully scheduled process and as a safety measure, only individuals actively being vaccinated are allowed inside the facility. Regardless of the locations where you are receiving your vaccine:
- Do not arrive any earlier than five minutes before your appointment. Arriving onsite earlier will not secure you an earlier vaccination.
- Wait in your vehicle until your appointment time. You will not be able to wait inside the building.
- Do not call to let staff know you have arrived, and do not come inside to be texted when it is your appointment time.
All individuals desiring to be vaccinated must also meet the following state residency criteria, as outlined by Florida Statute 381.986(5)(b):
2. A seasonal resident who cannot meet the requirements of the paragraph above may provide the department with a copy of two of the following that show proof of residential address:
b. One proof of residential address from the seasonal resident’s parent, step-parent, legal guardian or other person with whom the seasonal resident resides and a statement from the person with whom the seasonal resident resides stating that the seasonal resident does reside with him or her.
c. A utility hookup or work order dated within 60 days before registration in the medical use registry.
d. A utility bill, not more than two months old.
e. Mail from a financial institution, including checking, savings or investment account statements, not more than two months old.
f. Mail from a federal, state, county, or municipal government agency, not more than two months old.
- There are no walk-in vaccination clinics in Santa Rosa County.
- Do not arrive early for your appointment.
- Second shots will require a second consent form to be completed.
- Individuals who feel they have serious underlying medical conditions should contact their primary care physicians regarding vaccination. Neither the local or state Department of Health nor Santa Rosa County staff can make determinations on underlying medical conditions.
- Persons with transportation issues should contact the Tri-County Community Council, 850-547-3688.
- Employees or residents of assisted living facilities/long-term care facilities, should have received their vaccinations at their respective locations. Contact those facilities with any questions.
- All frontline healthcare workers who are eligible for the vaccination should have been notified by their administration. Contact that healthcare administration with any questions.
- Hospitals have the authority to vaccinate any patients they determine to be in need of the vaccine.
Publix Grocery Stores (Pea Ridge, Five Points, Tiger Point, Gulf Breeze, Navarre)
Publix has an online scheduling portal for registering for appointments on a first come, first served status. It is expected that slots fill quickly, so individuals 65 and older should continue to check this site for availability.
- Individuals under age 65 will not be vaccinated at this time, per the state executive order.
- Each individual must bring a valid form of identification showing date of birth (driver's license, state-issued ID or passport).
- Healthcare workers who provide direct patient care and are not associated with a hospital system must bring a valid form of identification as indicated above as well as a healthcare badge to prove eligibility.
- Each individual wishing to receive a vaccination is required to register for an appointment. Individuals without an appointment will not be vaccinated. There are no walk-in appointments at any location at this time.
- These are not drive-through sites. All individuals must be monitored for 15 minutes after receiving the vaccination.
- If you have questions about whether or not you should receive the vaccine, contact your health care provider.
- Santa Rosa County is receiving the Moderna COVID-19 vaccine which is administered in two doses. you must receive your second dose 25-33 days after your appointment. You will be contacted with the details of your second does appointment if it is not scheduled at your initial vaccination. More information on the COVID-19 vaccine is available at the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
State Vaccine Administration Information:
Per Executive Order 20-315, during this first phase of COVID-19 vaccine administration, providers shall only vaccinate the following:
- Long-term care facility residents and staff
- Persons 65 years of age and older
- Health care personnel with direct patient contact
- Hospitals may vaccinate persons who they deem to be extremely vulnerable
- Additionally, the surgeon general for the state has issued an order that vaccines can only be given to Florida residents.
Ascension Sacred Heart Hospital and Santa Rosa County still has two drive-through testing sites. Pre-registration is no longer required for testing only.
Tiger Point Community Center - 1370 Tiger Point Ln. in Gulf Breeze
Tues. and Thurs., 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Milton Community Center - 5629 Byrom St. in Milton
Mon., Wed. and Fri., 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Santa Rosa County
Santa Rosa County School District
Visit www.santarosa.k12.fl.us/bts2021 or see links below:
Contact BackToSchool@santarosa.k12.fl.us with specific questions.
Santa Rosa County Health Department
- Everyone who is physically capable of donating plasma or blood is urged to do so during the pandemic. Convalescent plasma from recovered COVID patients is being evaluated as a treatment for those with serious or immediately life-threatening COVID infections. Donations can be scheduled online at OneBlood.org.
- OneBlood web site is testing all donations for the COVID-19 antibody. The antibody test will indicate if the donor has antibodies, regardless of presence of symptoms.
- Appointments to donate are required.
- Do not donate if you are not feeling well or have a cough or fever.
There are many feeding programs in the county where residents can pick up enough food for a family of four for at least a week. See the calendar for a complete schedule or map of closest location. There are no restrictions on who may utilize this program. Note that this is not a complete listing of all feeding programs in Santa Rosa County. For a more complete list, visit Feeding the Gulf Coast's website to use the search feature to locate the closest food pantry or distribution event.
- County Office Openings, Closures and Hours
- SantaRosaReady.com (assistance for business owners)
- Florida Governor's Executive Orders
- Florida Department of Health
- COVID-19 Dashboard(scroll to Santa Rosa County for local information)
- 211 Northwest Florida
- Florida Division of Emergency Management
- Who is eligible to receive a vaccine at this site?
- I have mobility issues, will there be accommodations at the vaccine site?
- Will there be enough vaccines for my appointment?
- I have a comorbidity/disability, but I’m younger than 65, can I get a vaccine?
- When will I get a call back to schedule a vaccine appointment?