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Florida Labor Laws

ountry. Althouh the federal government
IS primarily responsible for enforcement of
the labor laws, the State of Florida also

Labor within the state.




FIorldas Chlld‘Labor Program

Department of Business and Professional Regulation
under the Child Labor Law Chapter 450, Part 1 Florida
Statues, and Chapter 61L-2 Florida Administrative Code.

The agency’s primary goals are to:

— Protect the health, education and welfare of Florida’s working
minors in the workplace and

— To ensure the enforcement of restrictions from harmful work

situations
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The mission of the Child Labor Program is to
provide a program of :
and Initiatives deS|gned to
achieve full compliance in the enforcement of
the Child Labor Law and ensure the health,
education and welfare of FIonda s working
minors. 7




WHO CAN WORK?




May not work during school hours |

May not work before 7 A.M. .
May not work after 7 P.M. .

May not work more than 3 hours
per day, when school is scheduled
the following day

May work up to 8 hrs when school
Is not scheduled the following day

May not work more than 15 hours
In any one week

May not work before 7 A.M.
May not work after 9 P.M.
May not work more than 40 hours

In any one week




16- and 17-Year Olds

When School is in Session

May not work during school hours
May not work before 6:30 A.M.

May not work after 11:00 P.M.,
unless no school scheduled the
following day

May not work more than 8 hours
per day, unless no school is
scheduled the following day

May not work more than 30 hours in
any one week

When School is Not in Session

No limitations

May work unlimited hours, but no
more than 6 consecutive days in
any one week




Reqguirements

« At all times, minors are required to be given a

30-minute uninterrupted break after 4 hours of
work

« At all times, minors are prohibited from being
employed in a hazardous occupation

 May not work no more than 6 consecutive days
INn any one week




Occupatlons I\/Imors Under 18 I\/Iay or May
Not Work

Jobs 14- 15-YearOlds May Do Jobs 14-15 =Year Olds May not Do

— Sales/Cashier « May not work manufacturing
— Office and Clerical Work * May not operate a motor vehicle
— Bagging/Stocking « May not work construction, or
Groceries warehouse jobs, except office and
_ clerical work
— Certain Restaurant

« May not load or unload goods from

Positions trucks, cars, or conveyors



Logging or sawmilling
Toxic substances,
corrosives, or pesticides
Firefighting

Mining occupations
Power-driven equipment

Places where alcoholic
beverages with limited
exceptions

processing, or rendering
of meat

Wrecking or demolition

Working on any
scaffolding, roofs, or
ladders above 6 feet

Working with electrical
apparatus or wiring



Occupations Minors May
Work
PLEASE |

WAIT 10 BE
_SEATED }

Host or Receptionist

Bag Groceries Entertainment

Food Server



Hazardous Machine Operated
Eqmpments

‘ Mlxers
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Construction work Roofing
_ site 3
T, 2 1
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Power driven lawn mower Loading and unloading
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Tree services Dangerous animals




Docentatlon' Employers are
Required to Keep on File

Always Mandatory Applicable
— Proof of Age — Removal of Disability
— Timesheets of Nonage
— Child Labor Poster: — Waivers
Displayed in a — School Agreements
Conspicuous | W
Location Y



Exemptions from Time Restrictions?

Minors who hold waivers from a public school or from the state Child
Labor Compliance Program

Minors who are or have been married and show proof of a marriage
certificate

Minors 16 and 17 years of age who have graduated from high school
or received a high school equivalency diploma

Minors who have served in the U.S. Armed Forces (Military 1.D.)
Minors who are enrolled in high school work programs (OJT/DCT)
Children employed by their parents (except during school hours)

Hazardous occupations still apply until age 18



WWENWEIERS

The Child Labor Law acknowledges partial waivers that exempt

minors from certain requirements. Partial waivers are granted to
minors attending public school K-12 by:

* Superintendents
« Counselors
« OJT or DCT Program Leads

DBPR grants waivers to minors who are not enrolled in public school K-12.
Waivers are granted to minors who:

 Attend Private School

» Attend Home-School

» Attend Adult ED & GED Prep Classes
» Are Expelled or Unenrolled




Partial Walver

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
CHILD LABOR PROGRAM

APPLICATION FOR WAIVER OF FLORIDA CHILD LABOR LAW
(THIS WAIVER IS FOR MINORS WHO ARE NOT ENROLLED IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS)

Please type or write legibly; do not abbreviate (except State)

Applicant is: (Check one) Applicants Name:

(] Minor [] Employer
(Contact Child Labor for an
employer specific waiver.)

Minor’s Birth Date (Mo/Day/Year): / / . | Address: (Street or P.O. Box:)

Proof of age must be attached

Minor’'s Age: City: State: Zip:
County:

Minor’s Social Security #: - -

' ¥ Home Telephone: ( )

Public School Minor Attends: ' Alternative Education Program Minor Attends:

Address: Address:

Telephone: ( ) Telephone: ( )

A partial waiver is requested that would allow:

[J Work up to 18 hours a week (14-15 yr. olds) [0 work more than 30 hours a week (16-17 yr. olds)

[0 work during regular school hours (16-17 yr. olds) [ work past 11:00 p.m. on days preceding school days

[0 work up to hours without a break [0 other. Be specific

[1 Work in a hazardous occupation

A waiver is requested because of: (You may check all applicable boxes; documentation must be
provided for any box checked). SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR EXPLANATION OF APPROPRIATE
SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION TO BE SUBMITTED WITH WAIVER APPLICATION.

[1 COURT ORDER ) [0 SCHOOL STATUS

[0 FINANCIAL HARDSHIP [0 MEDICAL HARDSHIP

00 OTHER HARDSHIP

The undersigned certifies that the information presented is true and correct to the best of their knowledge.




Partial Waiver Contd...

APPLICATION WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED UNLESS PROOF OF AGE AND DOCUMENTATION FOR BOX CHECKED IS ATTACHED
SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED FOR
PARTIAL WAIVER OF THE FLORIDA CHILD LABOR LAW

PECIAL NOTE: THIS WAIVER IS FOR MINORS WHO ARE NOT ENROLLED IN PUBLIC SCHOOL (K-1 2). IF THE MINOR IS ATTENDING

EGULAR PUBLIC SCHOOL, A WAIVER MUST BE OBTAINED THROUGH THE SCHOOL SUPERINTENDENT OR DESIGNEE.
SYOU APPLY:

A DO ON-PUB OO0 A O O DO ATIO REQUIRED
FOR PRIVATE SCHOOL FOR HOME-SCHOOL FOR ADULT ED. & GED PREP CLASSES IF EXPELLED
1. A letter from the public school system 1. A copy of expulsion
1. Letter from public school system stating: stating: letter or other
':‘ Ietttehr onn§cr|too|(:ﬁgelrhead (a) Withdrawal from public school, (a) withdrawal from public school, document from the
?;T ‘e PESEESAERS OR OR; school that explains
?a ) 'g%ro”me At (b) the acknowledgement from school (b) authorization to obtain education through the time period of
(b) attendanc e’ and district of your of intent to establish a alternative means. the expulsion.
(c) working ad d/‘tioh af bours home school program. 2. A letter on letterhead from adult the (Partial waivers
will notg'eo erdize sohool 2. A NOTARIZED statement from parent or education school that states the minor is will be issued for
rlo resjs P guardian as to which day/hours the (a) enrolled, the same time
Procff o?a & . minor receives home school instruction. (b) attending, and period of
ge. 3. Proof of age (c) hours of attendance. expulsion)
3. Proof of age 2. Proof of age.
‘YOU APPLY:
A D O ARD P O O DO ATIO REQUIRED
FOR FINANCIAL HARDSHIP FOR MEDICAL HARDSHIP FOR “OTHER” HARDSHIP
1. A letter on letterhead from a doctor, pastor, school 1. A letter on letterhead from a doctor, pastor,
o NOTAR'ZED statement froman adult counselor, etc., EXPLAINING the circumstances or school counselor, etc., EXPLAINING the
family member or adult friend EXPLAINING + . 2 a .
the financial hardship, situation, = circumstances or sm(;)a;on.
fobFof cument rece?’t?of dbiic-assistatice A NOTARIZED statement from an adult a NOTARIZED statement from an adult
Prog P P : EXPLAINING the circumstances or situation. explaining the circumstances or situation.
';iggi g; \;vitgdrawa( fromipublic;school. 2. Proof of withdrawal from public school. " 2. Proof of withdrawal from public school.
ge. 3. Proof of age. 3. Proof of age.

iF YOU APPLY
'ASED ON A COURT ORDER OR CONDITION OF PROBATION THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION IS REQUIRED

1. A copy of the court order that states the minor must work full time and/or pay restitution and proof of age.
OR
2. A letter of letterhead from the probation officer stating the minor must work full time and proof of age.

PROOF OF AGE IS REQUIRED WITH ALL WAIVER APPLICATIONS
A copy of a birth certificate, drivers license, age certificate, Florida identification or passport will be sufficient. Proof of age is required in addition to the
scumentation mentioned above for the status under which you apply.)




(ertificate

Matrimony

We hereby certify that on The Twenty-third day of the First menth, AD 2001, John-David.Doe \
and __Jame-Mary. Smith have come together in the sight of God Almighty and of men and have ‘\
been enjoined together in Matrimony before Witnesses and have set our seal and signature hereupon this

certificate as proof that such union and ceremony did in fact take place at the location known as Fresno county
of The California state Republic.

Winess

Ceremony peffommed by =i-a

What G Winess Date
Let no man separate!

Third Witness (Opfionall
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~ SIGNATURE
- SIGNETURE

LAST NAME, FI

WEGHT

HEIGHT HAR COLOR EVE COLOR

185 71 BR BL

DATE OF BIRTH
MEDICAL CIVILIAN  EFF DATE  EXP DATE

DATE OF ISSUE
DIRECT: YES YES 2004JUL01 _ INDEF

|SlAMPLE|




This certifies that

gg)l QIJ ét IJDDI %Ip[ﬂma ; %h’///‘(ﬂ/(‘ (/ (Z)}I//ze/()//'(«/z %

Student’s Name

We gladlyprasent this cenificateto

In recognitonof im of the raquisemanss for

has completed a College Preparatory Course of Study at

Name of Homeschool

and is entitled to the rights and privileges appertaining thereunto. =
i Awasiad On

Certified, this fifteenth day of December 2005 by
Fathes'y Signativwe Mother’y Sigmnative i




Reasons Why You
Should Hire Minors

Minors are great weekend
workers

Minors are great for seasonal
work

They are young and energetic

They are trainable with few bad
habits

Minors could potentially become
future managers
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Inspection Checks & Record

Reviews

Post a Florida Child Labor Law
Poster at a conspicuous place on
the property

Obtain and retain federal or state
proof of age for minors: driver’s
license, birth certificate, passport,
etc...

Obtain and retain require
documentation for working minor
under 18 years of age

Do not permit a minor to work in
any hazardous occupation,
during public school hours
without a written waiver, more
than 6 consecutive days, and
without a 30- minute
uninterrupted lunch break

Understand OSHA’s Material
Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)

Understand the laws when
school is in session vs. when
school is not in session



safety regulations that apply to your business

Assess and eliminate hazardous occupations for minors

Train minors to use safe work practices, recognize hazards, and
prepare for emergencies

Assure that minors are appropriately trained and supervised



Pensacola: Satellite Office 1

Chris Lee, Regional Program Administrator
4900 Bayou Blvd, Suite 210

Pensacola, FL 32503-2532

850.494.5960

Tallahassee: Region 2

Chris Lee, Regional Program Administrator
1940 North Monroe Street

Tallahassee, FL 32399-2218
850.414.1325

Jacksonville: Region 3

Sandra Rentfrow, Regional Program Administrator
4161 Carmichael Ave., Suite 254A

Jacksonville, FL 32207

904.727.5591

Gainesville: Region 4

Tampa: Satellite Office 6

Tim McGrath, Regional Program Administrator
1313 North Tampa Street, Suite 915

Tampa, FL 33602

813.233.4419

Sergio Gonzalez, Regional Program Administrator
2295 Victoria Avenue, Suite 263

Fort Myers, FL 33901-3877

239.338.2376

Cheryl Biesky, Regional Program Administrator
5080 Coconut Creek Parkway, Suite A

Region 7

Regions 8,9, &10

Manatee Okeechob
ee

DeSoto
Sarasota

\2
\" < Glades

St. Lucie

Palm Beach

Broward




\/

up to $2,500 per offense and/or be guilty
of a second degree misdemeanor.
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